When I Was Found

On October 10, 2011, my life was changed. For those of you who really really know me, I was adopted by my amazing mom and dad with an amazing sister and two amazing brothers. I spent years trying to figure out where I came from and who my birth family was and so on and so forth but always came to a brick wall. Eventually I came to terms it was something that was never ment to be.

OnΒ  October 10 2011, almost 6 years ago, I received a phone call from my dad that changed me. My dad received an email from a lovely girl. It went on with her introducing herself and then stating… She was my sister, Kalin. As soon as those words left my dads moth while reading it to me I was a blubbering mess! I couldn’t believe it, was this really happening? Was I finally hearing from someone who by blood was a part of me? I had another sister?! I was over the moon. I was given an email address and my dad said it’s up to you if you want to reach back out. I spent hours and hours and hours trying to figure out what to say how to introduce myself, I was allll over the place. I emailed and hesitated to send it because I was so scared….. But I did it. Within a few hours, I heard my email ping. No lie I was shaking. It was her. It was my sister Kalin. Someone I only ever dreamt of knowing she was real! She told me about my other brothers and sister and about our family and I was just so excited it was all coming true something I dreamt of my whole life and the best part, we really hit it off! We had or have so much in common it’s crazy!!

I was arranging to go back to Florida in March 2012, so after constant emails back and forth, we arranged to all meet up while I was there. On march 22, 2012….. One of my biggest dreams came true. I asked my Mom to come with me as I was pooping myself! ‘What if they don’t like me, what if it isn’t as it seems… What if what if what if….’ I had to. I wanted to.

As we arrived there were the people in the photos I’ve seen in the street all hanging out. I was finally meeting my birth family! It took sooooo much not to cry (didn’t want to seem silly lol) in the moment we all met, all I could feel was warmth and love and happiness and excitement. They all were ever so welcoming and friendly! It was as if we all knew each other for years. We all talked, laughed told stories shared bits of life ate amazing food and even some tears were shed. It was a day I’ll carry with me for the rests of my life and it’s all thanks to my sister Kalin. I’ll forever be grateful for her finding me.
Even as I’m writing this I’m tearing up lol.

I may not speak to them very very often or ever get to see them (I hope I will when I go back to fl) but I love them all so much and have such a huge space in my heart for them. The day I met them I felt like hole I had inside me for years was all of a sudden filled up. They are amazing, inspiring beautiful people which no matter what a big part of me and I do really really miss them all the time. I love you guys always have always will.

542971_372802869409691_797225126_n

 

5 thoughts on “When I Was Found

  1. That’s amazing. I’ve always wondered what it might be like to be adopted.

    Forgive my insensitivity, but did they ever explain how the family got separated? That would have been my first question, albeit the hardest one to ask them.

    • thank you πŸ™‚ no thats not insensitive at all… throughout my life ive always had sooo many questions and questions i always wanted to ask. i was in my 20s when i finally found out about everyone. i was the eldest and first born out of everyone and due to some circumstances they knew the best life for me would be with someone else. my brother is a year or a bit younger then me and they kept him and the rest of the gang but lots can change in just a few months. im beyond greatful that they did put me for adoption because i love my mom and dad and sibling so much and couldnt imagine growing up without them even though i do love my birth family so much now that i know them πŸ™‚

      • Aw, well that’s great. I think it’s always best to be with the family that can provide you with the care you need.

        Good luck! And thanks for responding. 😊

      • yeah i know everyones different and different circumstances but talking to my blood family and what they went through i give them so much admiration because i dont know how i would of coped with it all, but then i feel guilty as im the eldest and i could of been a support you know? thank you hun and same to you! lovely chatting πŸ™‚ ❀

      • There’s definitely nothing to feel guilty about. You didn’t choose to be given up. And I’m sure you’re adoptive family gave you many great opportunities.

        You’re welcome – and good luck!

Leave a Reply

